“Who knows how to taste never drinks
wine again, but tastes its secrets”

Salvador Dali

1/4

TODAY, CATALDINA & VINCENT !

Cataldina and Vincent now work the 6.5 hectares of vines, 13 appellations of the Domaine, with love and commitment. Their philosophy is to respect family traditions whilst using new, modern, environmentally-friendly techniques in order to continue to improve quality. Beyond the quest for excellence in glass, Cataldina & Vincent are also lovers of life: for them, wine is a magic potion that makes you happy when you share it… That’s why you will always be welcome to the Domaine!

 

Creators of good mood

2/4

A BEAUTIFUL FAMILY STORY !

‘Monsieur’ and ‘Madame’ Monthelie created this domaine over 300 years ago and its original vaulted cellars and basket press still bear witness to that time.
The domaine is located in Monthelie, in the heart of the Côte de Beaune, and covers 13 hectares of vineyards in Monthelie, Pommard, Volnay and Meursault. The domaine has long been run by the Monthelie and Douhairet families.
In the early 1970’s, sisters Armande and Charlotte Douhairet inherited the domaine and decided to go their separate ways. Armande fought to keep her half of the domaine whilst Charlotte decided to sell hers.
In 1989, Armande was joined by André Porcheret, her adopted son. André worked on improving quality at the domaine whilst continuing his work as governor for the Hospices de Beaune.
In 2004, Burgundy lost an important female figure in the wine industry when Armande Douhairet, fondly known by all as the ‘Miss’, sadly passed away.
In that same year André Porcheret was joined by his granddaughter who brought her own expertise and personal values to the domaine.

Vaulted Cellars
Winery and basket press (18th century)

3/4

ANDRÉ PORCHERET, THE VISIONARY !

In parallel with the development of the Domaine with Miss Armande, André has succeeded in making its talent grow throughout Burgundy.
From 1976 to 1988, he was manager of the Hospices de Beaune. Thus, he was already a great figure of Burgundy wines when he was called by the illustrious Lalou Bize-Leroy (also co-manager of the Romanée-Conti), to take In his personal vineyard domain and to ensure its conversion to the principles of biodynamics… An amazing bet of forerunner that he held until 1993, more than 25 years before the emergence of these new methods of eco-responsible winemaking!
André was recalled in 1993 by the Hospices de Beaune, with the ambitious mission of restoring to this noble institution the prestige which it had gradually lost at its departure, a challenge that André will raise with talent and commitment until 1999.

André Porcheret and his little-daughter Cataldina

 

4/4

OUR ENGAGEMENTS & WORKING METHOD

All of the soils are worked using different methods of ploughing and the vines are cultivated in line with sustainable practices.

The harvests are carried out by hand using small, open crates in order to avoid the grapes being compressed and the first juice being damaged.

The first step is to rigorously sort the fruit.

The crops are 100% de-stemmed.

Fermentation and maceration take place in wooden vats, each one different in size to correspond with the vineyard parcel for which it is used. The vats are thermo-regulated for improved control during fermentation. This process lasts for 15 to 20 days on average.

The wines are aged in our cellars in traditional 228L Burgundy barrels known as ‘pièces’. We use 10% new oak every year and the ageing process lasts for an average of 15 months for the whites and 18 months for the reds.

The wines are bottled at the domaine.

 

Fermentation and maceration in wooden vats
Harvest with small open crates

1/4

AUJOURD’HUI, CATALDINA & VINCENT !

Aujourd’hui, Cataldina et Vincent, créateurs de bonne humeur, gèrent avec passion les 6,5 hectares du Domaine. Leur philosophie : perpétuer la tradition familiale, rechercher toujours plus de qualité en s’aidant des techniques nouvelles et modernes, tout en respectant l’environnement. Au-delà de la recherche de l’excellence dans le verre, Cataldina & Vincent sont aussi des amoureux de la vie : pour eux, le vin est une potion magique qui rend heureux lorsqu’on la partage… C’est pourquoi vous serez toujours les bienvenus au Domaine !

Créateurs de bonne humeur

2/4

UNE BELLE HISTOIRE DE FAMILLE !

Mr et Mme Monthelie ont créé le Domaine il y a plus de 300 ans. Les caves voûtées et le pressoir écureuil témoignent de cette époque. Installé à Monthelie, en plein cœur de la Côte de Beaune, le Domaine fait alors 13 hectares. Il s’étend sur les vignobles de Monthelie, Pommard, Volnay et Meursault, et est longtemps géré par les familles Monthelie et Douhairet.
Au début des années 1970, les deux sœurs Armande et Charlotte Douhairet héritent du Domaine et décident de se séparer. Armande se battra pour garder sa part et Charlotte vendra la sienne.
En 1989, Armande s’associe avec André Porcheret, son fils adoptif. André mettra en valeur le Domaine parallèlement à sa fonction de régisseur aux Hospices de Beaune.
En 2004, la Bourgogne perd « une grande dame du vin » : Armande Douhairet, que tout le monde surnommait la « Miss », s’éteint.
Cette année-là, André Porcheret est rejoint par sa petite fille, à qui il transmet son savoir-faire et ses valeurs.

Les caves voutées d'élevage
Le pressoir écureuil du Domaine (XVIII)

3/4

ANDRÉ PORCHERET, LE VISIONNAIRE !

En parallèle du développement du Domaine avec Miss Armande, André a su faire fructifier son talent à travers toute la Bourgogne.
Ainsi, régisseur aux Hospices de Beaune de 1976 à 1988, il est déjà une grande figure des Vins de Bourgogne lorsqu’il est appelé par l’illustre Lalou Bize-Leroy (par ailleurs co-gérante de la Romanée-Conti), pour prendre en main son domaine viticole personnel et en assurer la conversion aux principes de la biodynamie… Un sacré pari de précurseur qu’il tient jusqu’en 1993, plus de 25 ans avant l’éclosion de ces nouvelles méthodes de viticulture éco-responsable !
André est ensuite rappelé en 1993 par les Hospices de Beaune, avec l’ambitieuse mission de redonner à cette noble institution le prestige qu’elle avait peu à peu perdu à son départ, défi qu’il relèvera avec talent et engagement jusqu’en 1999.

André Porcheret et sa petite-fille, Cataldina

 

4/4

NOS ENGAGEMENTS & MÉTHODES DE TRAVAIL

Tous les sols sont travaillés avec différents labours, les vignes sont conduites en lutte raisonnée.

La vendange est manuelle en petites caisses percées pour éviter le tassement des raisins et un contact avec le premier jus.

Nous pratiquons un tri sévère, c’est une étape primordiale.

La vendange est 100% égrappée.

La fermentation et la macération se font en cuve bois, toutes de tailles différentes car chacune correspond à une parcelle de vigne. Les cuves sont thermo régulées pour une meilleure maitrise des fermentations. Cette étape dure en moyenne entre 15 à 20 jours.

L’élevage des vins se fait dans nos caves, en fût traditionnel bourguignon. Nous utilisons 10% de fûts neufs chaque année et l’élevage dur en moyenne 15 mois pour les blancs et 18 mois pour les rouges.

La mise en bouteille se fait au domaine.

Fermentation et la macération en cuve bois
Vendange en petites caisses percées